This Is Not Just Any Band

I’ll give you fair warning: I’m going to be writing a lot about A Silent Film, an indie band from Oxford, England. So it’s only fitting that my first blog post is about them. I’m going to bring you up to speed here since the reviews I have done in the past were housed on another blog.

I’ll let my own stories about them speak for how incredible A Silent Film is and then maybe you’ll understand why I’ve seen them 13 times in 6 states and every time a show ends, I can’t wait to see them take the stage again.

A Silent Film; Portland, OR 22 Nov 2014

After a year hiatus, my favorite band A Silent Film was finally playing a show again–one show only, and it was in Grande Ronde, Oregon. Well, I’d traveled for them before so rather than getting a Christmas present from my husband, I asked for plane tickets. It may seem crazy that I spent a fair amount of money to fly to Oregon (which, by the way, is so beautiful it made my heart ache), just to see a band.

Well, this is not just any band.

This is my A Silent Film.

From the first time I saw them, I was in love with their music. I discovered them quite by accident. In July 2011, I was in desperate need for a girls’ night out at a concert, but I almost didn’t go, because my beloved grandmother had just passed away. However, with the urging of my family, saying that she would have wanted me to go, I took my sister and we went to see Thriving Ivory at Deer Valley in Park City, Utah. I adore TI …but I left with another band in my mind. This band, whose passion was clear from the first note, who I had never heard of before, had slipped into my heart and I have completely taken over my music heart.

With their songs in the background, I laugh. I cry. I dance. I sing loudly in the car, and my girls. I clean the house, fold laundry, put away dishes, work, kiss owies, cook dinner…and I write. I write stories and poetry about my life, and the lives of characters I dream up.This can’t be said enough: Their songs are the soundtrack to the stories in my head, and they have become sewn into the patchwork of my life.

Not only does their music inspire me on a daily basis, I found other fans who love their music just as much as I do. We are called the Lamplighters, and many of these people have become a huge part of my life, and it’s completely unexpected. I didn’t think that because I had a common love for a band that these people would come to mean so much to me.

My life would not be the same without my  Lamplighters, fellow fans who have become close friends, who have laughed with me, cried with me, sung at the top of their lungs with me. I wouldn’t have met these amazing people without ASF.

All of this is crowned by the fact that the “lads”–Robert Stevenson and Spencer Walker– are some of the most genuinely kind and gracious people I have ever met.

Sand and Snow, ASF’s second record, became an album of anthems that held me together through an extremely difficult year. Many of the other Lamplighters have told me that ASF’s music has gotten them through hard times, too, and has also been the background for some of their happiest moments.

All of this, because of a band.

So yes, it might be crazy to some to jump on a plane and fly hundreds of miles to see a band, but this band means more to me than just their music. They are a symbol of the dreams I am pursuing, the love that I am giving, the friends I am making, the family I am raising.

They are sparks.

 

Leave a Reply

